Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes…

I’m not a big fan of David Bowie, but his song “Changes” keeps rolling through my head.  I got up in the middle of the night because I have a lot on my mind. There are changes taking place in my life and changes coming. I can feel it.

“Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don’t want to be a richer man
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Just gonna have to be a different man”

David Bowie wrote “Changes” apparently because he was trying to reinvent himself.  I am trying to reinvent myself, too.  Up until now I think I have been living a life I thought others wanted me to live or I thought would make God happy.  But I have never really felt alive doing those things. 

“I still don’t know what I was waiting for
And my time was running wild
A million dead-end streets
Every time I thought I’d got it made
It seemed the taste was not so sweet
So I turned myself to face me
But I’ve never caught a glimpse
Of how the others must see the faker
I’m much too fast to take that test”

Without knowing it, I’ve been a faker and a poser. My intentions were good, but you know what they say about good intentions. And now I’ve wasted a lot of time.

I watch the ripples change their size
But never leave the stream
Of warm impermanence and
So the days float through my eyes
But still the days seem the same

My choices in the past have led me to today.  And now I’m bored.

“Time may change me, but I can’t trace time.”

But I can make out change.

John Eldredge in his book Wild at Heart says, ““Don’t ask yourself what the world needs.  Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and go do that, because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

Yep, it’s time for a change. My time was running wild. Now it’s my job to control time and be wild at heart.

David Bowie’s “Changes”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

