The Ikea Life

I miss Ikea.  This is the furniture retailer originating in Sweden which sells Nordic-style furniture. Their furniture is usually of the self-assembly variety and, therefore, inexpensive. But it’s stylish.

But the chain is more than just a furniture store. It’s a cheap date.  It’s a great store to wander around in. It is huge, well-designed and well-lighted. You can spend hours in there with your friends and loved ones looking at their latest creations.  Best of all (for male species), there is a low-cost cafeteria where customers can enjoy a meal and chat. 

My town here in Finland doesn’t have one.  But in previous lives I was able to avail myself of the Ikea culture.  My first encounter with the store was when I first got married in the Washington, D.C. area and we bought a little grey sofa that could just about be carried singlehandedly.  

We lived within walking distance of one in Helsinki.  We purchased some nice desks there for our studious children. 

 There was even an Ikea in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.  I recall sitting in the cafeteria at 11 p.m. It was open that late because it was Ramadan and the schedule was altered. (Followers of Islam must fast all day during Ramadan and then are allowed to eat when the sun goes down.)

 I hope the next place I move has one.

The Riyadh, Saudi Arabia store as I saw it -- at night.

The Riyadh, Saudi Arabia store as I saw it -- at night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

