Carry Me Back to Old Virginny

Maybe I am making things better than they are in my own mind, but I am ecstatic about returning to Virginia, the land of my childhood.

I am sure it has changed and isn’t perfect. But, I’ve always regretted I wasn’t born there.  I have had the privelege, though, of living there about 45 percent of my life.

The cardinal, the state bird, was a common sight in my childhood in Virgina.

The cardinal, the state bird, was a common sight in my childhood in Virgina.

 

I love its history. It is the home of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson and Patrick Henry.  A large number of Civil War battles were fought there, since the Union kept trying to capture Richmond, the capital of the Confederacy. I loved visiting the battlefields: Manassas, Chancellorsville, The Wilderness, Fredericksburg.

I am particularly fond of the Shenandoah Valley. To me it is the most beautiful scenery on earth. I grew up at the southern end of it, surrounded by mountains. To those I am returning. I love the hiking available there on the Appalachian trail and other places in the Blue Ridge.

The universities are tops. I can remember sitting in the stands at a football game at Victory Stadium in Roanoke with some Keydets from Virginia Military Institute. (Stonewall Jackson taught there and George Patton attended.)  I was reminded of that game when Victory Stadium appeared in the movie “Remember the Titans”.  The stadium has since been torn down.

The University of Virginia and Virginia Tech are two of the best schools in the nation.  Some schools on the rise include George Mason University and James Madison University.  Keep an eye on Patrick Henry College, the first tertiary institution in the nation founded specifically as a place for Christian home school students.

Virginia last voted Democratic when Lyndon Johnson became president, that is until 2008 when it went for Barack Obama. Politically, it is a bit quirky. But I don’t care if it is a blue state, a red state or a chartreuse state. I am glad I will again be a native son.   

The Virginia state flag, adopted in 1776,  reveals its role in opposing British rule during the American Revolution.

The Virginia state flag, adopted in 1776, reveals its role in opposing British rule during the American Revolution.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

