My road less taken

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somwhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–

I took the one less travelled by,

and that has made all the difference .

(from Robert Frost, a Road Less Taken).

 

Before me stood a life of boredom

in the land of the free and home of the brave.

At first, I thought to be a journalist knave,

yet was moved at the time to try and save

my fellow man and bring him to Christendom.

 

But I liked things foreign  above all else

And began to plan my way  to there.

I married a Finn, she of a people rare 

who live in a land of lakes quite fair,

even though I myself have the blood of a Celt.

 

Had I stayed among my American relations

life would have been dreary and drab for sure.

I don’t regret  my choices in life and the lure

of the crosscultural, for out of our joined nations

came Hannah, my daughter sweet and demure. 

 

 

 

 

 

sitting in a cubicle

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

