Mumbling in my fuzz

On the way to the gym this weekend morning, I walked out my front door before  6 am and was greeted by a beautiful sight. In front of me was a crescent moon, and to its right a constellation.

After I mused on how gorgeous the view was, I began to ponder which constellation I was looking at. I thought it was Orion, but I wasn’t sure. I began to rule out constellations. “Hmm, it’s not one of the ‘dippers’.

I  was embarrassed, although no person was around and there was no one who could hear my thoughts, except God that is. It was like Mr. O’Connor, my crotchety old high school algebra teacher, was saying to me, as he did,””You’re mumbling in your fuzz again, Fowler.”

I used to subscribe to a thing called “Sky Maps”, which would tell me such things.  I never really paid much attention to that subscription, but I should have.

The thing that makes mornings like this one so unique is that they are rare on the East Coast of the United States.  We have too many city lights. In addition, in the area where I live we usually are greeted with morning fog hovering over  the mountains and hills.

In Finland, the country where I have lived the past few years, a clear starry sky in the morning was common. I got to enjoy my walks to work in the crisp, fresh morning air with the stars and perhaps the moon above.  I am not used to these sights anymore here in Virginia, though.

However, a hurricane heading toward New England has had an effect here. It has made  our community autumn-like, cleansing the air and cooling the temperatures. In fact, I intend to go hiking at a nearby dry lake this morning and I am really looking forward to it because of this weather.

Back to God. I think He decided to remind me of who He is this morning. The Psalmist describes God as I thought of Him before dawn:

“O LORD my God, you are very great;
       you are clothed with splendor and majesty.

  He wraps himself in light as with a garment;
       he stretches out the heavens like a tent

  and lays the beams of his upper chambers on their waters.
       He makes the clouds his chariot
       and rides on the wings of the wind (Psalm 104:1b-3).”

Oh, did I say it was breezy, too? I guess the hurricane winds have come this way a little bit, also.

The mountains and valleys around here tell me of God, but the lights above REALLY showed me that He is light in the darkness. I had better bone up on my sky knowledge so the next time this uncommon event occurs, I am a little more educated.

I don’t want God to think I am mumbling in my fuzz again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

