It’s Not a Wonderful Life without Christ

Christmas is over, and I have to say that it was kind of empty. Oh, we got “stuff”, but we missed the most important aspect: Jesus.

I thought we would go to church the day after Christmas, but the services were cancelled due to a winter storm. In the meantime, I blame myself for not leading my family in the spiritual focus of the holiday.

I could make a lot of excuses, but I think my lack of leadership in this area is due to my own spiritual funk these days. What I have seen of late is that without Jesus Christ, life isn’t much.

Without Him, I begin to feel like George Bailey in “It’s a Wonderful Life.” Good ole’ George, if you recall, decides to commit suicide after a huge financial mistake at his building and loan. 

Before he can throw himself off a bridge, angel second class Clarence shows up to reveal how many lives he has touched and what life would have been like without him. Having seen the despair Clarence shows him in an alternate time line, George runs back to the bridge and pleads with God to give his life back.

When he comes to his house, he is about to be placed under arrest. However, all the people he touched show up to rescue him financially.

Clarence, having earned his angel wings, leaves behind a book about Tom Sawyer. The incription reads,””Dear George: Remember no man is a failure who has friends.”

Does living matter? Not unless one has love, friends and family. Without them, stuff is meaningless.

Thus, the way out of my depressed spirit is to get my mind off my own navel and to reach out in love to others, as Jesus and George did.  Like George, I may have to give up my own ambitions,  but in the long run I will be richer for doing so.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

